The Google Maps app was recently updated to version 3.0 and with it came a very handy new feature: offline viewing of maps. In previous versions you’d need a data connection to view an area, but if you’ve previously saved it you can now access it offline.

Saving a selection of the map could help you when you’re on holiday and you need to get back to your hotel without a data connection, so having just a small part saved can be a great help.

Let’s go through how-to save areas in Google Maps.

1. Where to save

In order to save your maps later, you’ll need to log in – so start by doing that.

Then, to save an area of the map, open the Google Maps app and search for a specific place or general location and wait for the result to appear. You do need a data connection at this stage, either through your cell network or Wi-Fi.

Search for where you want to save

Search for where you want to save

Now tap on the location information at the bottom of the screen to reveal more details. This will reveal the ‘Save map to use offline’ option. Tap this and you’ll be presented with the editor that you can pan and zoom around to choose what part of the map you want to save. Once your happy, tap Save and name the map.

Select the area you want to save

Select the area you want to save

2. Access your maps

Open up Google Maps and tap the small ‘PERSON’ icon in the search bar. This takes you to your account details. Scroll down and find the ‘Saved places’ section with the list of your places. Tap on one to go directly to it.

Find the list of saved areas from your Profile page

Find the list of saved areas from your Profile page

You can still zoom in and pan around a small area of the map but if you go too far from the original location then no details will appear.

If you zoom out you can see the area that has been saved clearly

If you zoom out you can see the area that has been saved clearly

3. Remove saved areas

Once you’ve finished with the saved location you can also remove it. Make your way back to the list of saved places and tap ‘View all and manage’ to show all of your saved maps. Tap the menu option next to each entry, which is represented by three vertical dots, to reveal more options.

Tap the three dots to find more options

Tap the three dots to find more options

You can Rename the map or Update it with the latest data as well as Delete it from these options. By removing them, you’ll free up some space on your device, so it’s a good idea to keep this list trimmed to only the ones you absolutely need.

Rename, Update, or delete the saved maps

Rename, Update, or delete the saved maps

With this new feature, Google Maps has become our go to map app again. With so much added extra functionality, it’s hard to go back to Apple Maps.

App Store Download button