Skip to content

“Sega Forever” brings old-school classics to the App Store

Sega, creators of Sonic the Hedgehog, have announced plans for an ongoing collection of its classic games on iOS. Sega Forever has just launched with five popular games from the Sega Genesis, and the company promises regular updates to the compendium from all of its game consoles.

This is a big deal for those who fondly remember the console wars of the 90s, or want to get their retro fix on the go. Sega has previously released the odd port of old games, but this system looks to unify the games and really ramp up the quantity of titles available to iPhone and iPad users.

For starters, Sega has released five classics: Sonic the Hedgehog, Phantasy Star II, Comix Zone, Kid Chameleon, and Altered Beast. All are available for free, supported by ads – or you can pay $1.99/£1.99 to remove ads and unlock cloud saves for each title. Some of these games have been previously available on the App Store, and if you bought an older version you’ll be able to restore your purchase here to remove all ads.

It’s also worth checking out the ultra-cheesy launch video, which is gloriously reminiscent of Sega’s ads in the early 90s.

Download Sonic the Hedgehog

Download Phantasy Star II

Download Comix Zone

Download Kid Chameleon

Download Altered Beast