It’s possible to organize events or chat with a group if you have several contacts that all use iMessage.

To set up a group conversation, start a new message, add multiple recipients, and send a text. All replies sent between devices can be seen by all members of the group chat, as can any subsequent replies.

Leave the thread

To leave an iMessage conversation, open the thread in the Messages app and tap the button in the top right. Scroll down, tap Leave this Conversation and you will no longer get any messages in the thread.

If you don’t want to leave but want to stop receiving notifications, toggle on the Hide Alerts option. Return and disable if you want to receive notifications again.

Message details

Did you know that the Messages app has a few hidden options? While looking at a conversation try tapping the i button in the top right. This will reveal those that are taking part in the conversation, which is handy if it’s a group message.

Below this there are options to share your location. Tap Send My Current Location to send your current location or tap Share My Location to share it for a certain period of time. This might be handy if you’re traveling to meet others.

Here, you’ll also see any photos that you have sent to each other. You can quickly export these images too. Tap and hold any image until the options appear, and choose Save. You can also CopyShare, or Delete the image using the same menu.