The iPhone lets you connect various apps and functions directly to your Facebook account, however, many are concerned with the amount of data Facebook has access too – but don’t fret, we can show you how to take control of what the world’s biggest social network has access to on your iPhone.

Facebook login

Connect your account by opening the Settings app and selecting Facebook. From here enter your user name and password. This will give you an overview of what Facebook can access and how it can interact with your apps.

Sign in to Facebook through the Settings app

Sign in to Facebook through the Settings app

Contacts

Linking your current contacts to Facebook can be handy as it will provide images and other contact details. This will also be updated automatically if a friend changes anything on Facebook.

When you sign on you'll be informed of what Facebook can do

When you sign in you’ll be informed of what Facebook can do

However, this can cause your Contacts app to become crowded or create duplicates – especially if your friends don’t use the same name on Facebook. To avoid this, turn off the Contacts option from the Facebook section in the Settings app.

Calendars

If you allow the Calendar option, Facebook can add contacts’ birthdays as well as any events you’re attending to the Calendar app. Again, this may cause the Calendar app to become overcrowded with entries. Turn off this option to hide these within the Calendar app.

The Calendar can fill up with Facebook events

The Calendar can fill up with Facebook events

Other apps

When using apps you have installed they can also ask for access to Facebook. You may quickly accept before forgetting which ones are connected. The Facebook option in Settings gives you the whole list. If you want to rescind access simply turn it off. The app will remain listed if you ever wish to allow access again.

Turn off apps that you don't want to have access to your Facebook details

Turn off apps that you don’t want to have access to your Facebook details

Disconnect

If you want to remove the Facebook connection completely you can. From the top of the list tap your name followed by Delete Account. Now Facebook will have no access to your iPhone.

Completely delete your account to stop Facebook access

Completely delete your account to stop Facebook access