If you’re using a Gmail account in Mail, by default it archives rather than deletes your email.

delete-instead-of-atchive

If you’d prefer to always delete messages, you can disable archiving from Settings then Mail. Tap Accounts followed by your Gmail account name, then again from the next view, followed by Advanced. Find the Move Discarded Message Into section and select Deleted Mailbox.

delete-instead-of-archive-2